City profile

Shenyang is the capital of Liaoning Province, the core city of Shenyang Economic Zone, the central city of the northeast, manufacturing base of advanced equipments, and the national historical and cultural city[1]. Shenyang lies in the northerly shore of Hun River, the ancient name of which was Shenshui, and was named Shenyang with the meaning of "sun side of Shenshui". The historical and cultural heritages are mainly that before the establishment of Qing Dynasty and that during the Republic of China. Shenyang was established as a city 2,300 years ago, and now, it has nine districts, one city, and three prefectures with the total area of 13,000 square kilometers and the urban area of 3,495 square kilometers.